Gravity” & “Her” Tie for Best Film at 2013 Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards

Posted Monday December 9, 2013 10:55 AM GMT

They’re both pretty unconventional flicks, and the Los Angeles Film Critics Association awarded their Best Film honors to “Her” and “Gravity.”

Over the weekend, the LAFCA announced the winners of this year’s trophies, and “Gravity” also snagged the top spot for Best Director (Alfonso Cuaron), Best Editing (Cuaron and Mark Sanger) and Best Cinematography.

Meanwhile, “Her” nabbed Best Production Design and Cate Blanchett tied for Best Actress (“Blue Jasmine”) with Adele Exarchopoulos (“Blue is the Warmest Color”).

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association awards went to:

Best Picture (tie): Gravity and Her

Best Actor: Bruce Dern, Nebraska

Runner-up: Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

Best Actress (tie): Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine; and Adele Exarchopoulos, Blue Is the Warmest Color

Best Supporting Actor (tie): James Franco, Spring Breakers, and Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong'o, 12 Years a Slave

Runner-up: June Squibb, Nebraska

Best Director: Winner: Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity

Runner-up: Spike Jonze, Her

Best Screenplay: Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke, Before Midnight

Runner-up: Spike Jonze, Her

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, Gravity

Runner-up: Bruno Delbonnel, Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Foreign Film: Blue Is the Warmest Color

Runner-up: The Great Beauty

Best Documentary: Stories We Tell

Runner-up: The Act of Killing

Best Animation: Ernest & Celestine

Runner-up: The Wind Rises

Best Production Design: K.K. Barrett, Her

Runner-up: Jess Gonchor, Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Editing: Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger, Gravity

Runner-up: Shane Carruth and David Lowery, Upstream Color

Best Music Score: T Bone Burnett, Inside Llewyn Davis

Runner-up: Arcade Fire and Owen Pallett, Her

Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video Award: Cabinets Of Wonder: Films and a Performance by Charlotte Pryce

New Generation Prize: Megan Ellison

Legacy of Cinema: The Criterion Collection

Special Citation: The creative team of 12 Years a Slave